Historic Tour

For decades, it's been locally known as "The Pines." This unique lodge and camps was carved out from a remote wilderness. Sportsmen for many years have been anxious to return to its tranquil beauty as an escape from the rigors of urban life back home. The Pines has always been isolated for in those days access was by horse drawn buggy or steamer from Grand Lake Stream. Now all of the tote roads to camp are easily traversed.

Our main lodge, the "Norway House," was built in 1884. Three husky young Canadians - William, Elisha and Merrill Shaw - came to "Dobsis" Lake in 1877. They were exploring the hunting and trapping possibilities in Maine. That first winter, a one-room cabin was built. Later on, the log house was torn down and the present house was built to accommodate the large Shaw family. William Shaw (AKA "Caribou Bill") patterned it after Norway House, an old halfway house on the Mirimichi River, where he had stayed as a young man. Caribou Bill kept the canoes in fine shape and improved the dock for visitors coming by boat.

At that time, the tannery at Grand Lake Stream was booming and employed a large number of people. A large stern wheeler boat took the bark to the tannery and brought supplies, along with guests who wanted to come to the Norway House for hunting game, fishing the many local lakes, swimming at the beautiful sand beach, or just relaxing. Among the visitors were such notables as Andrew Carnegie and President Calvin Coolidge.

Subsequently, there have been several owners, and the "Norway House" has since been renamed "The Pines." The current owners, Steve and Nancy Norris, bought the camps and have operated them since 1992. Having grown up in the sporting camp business with his parents at Kidney Pond Camps in Baxter State Park, Steve takes to sporting camp life as second nature. It has always been his lifelong dream. Steve and Nancy met at Kidney Pond Camps. That summer job for Nancy turned out to be a way of life that she and Steve share the love of. The Pines is a special place... a step back in time for a vacation you will always remember. Come enjoy a bit of history and get away from the hassles of everyday life!


The Pines Lodge and Camps
Mailing address:
30 Oak Hill Road
Orrington, Maine 04474
May - Sept: (207) 557-7463
Off Season: (207) 825-4431
info@thepineslodge.com

Another Winning Website by:
10seconds 2001
All rights reserved.